Q: Do you pay much attention to fan reactions to your choices?


LUCAS: Not really. The movies are what the movies are. … The thing about science-fiction fans and “Star Wars” fans is they’re very independent-thinking people. They all think outside the box, but they all have very strong ideas about what should happen, and they think it should be their way. Which is fine, except I’m making the movies, so I should have it my way.
(from CNN.com)


 


This is like George Lucas grabbing our VHS copies of the original trilogy and beating us with them, screaming “Mine!” like some flannelled 6-year old.  Come on George.  He says that the original trilogy we grew up with was incomplete and that he’s “sorry you saw half a completed film and fell in love with it.”



Can I love a movie series and hate the person who made it, especially the way he treats it now?  I grew up with these films, all I ask for it a decent transfer of what I was perfectly happy with literally my entire life.  Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate what he’s trying to do with Special Edition and the DVD Specialer Edition, I just want a choice.


 


*gets off of soapbox*

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

