REVIEW: Atonement (2007)

Summary: Academy Award nominated for Best Picture, this adaptation of a novel by some guy tells the story of a young girl who mistakenly frames her sister’s boyfriend and lives the rest of her life with regrets.

Thoughts: I found it long and pretty boring. For being the story of the younger sister, after the childhood scenes, she’s barely in the movie at all. The “twist” ending is far from being what M. Night’s shockers used to be (have you heard the twist for his next one?), but I did not expect it. Not that it changed anything but the scene immediately beforehand…

The acting is top notch all the way around, and the story was pretty good, I just feel that perhaps the focus was in the wrong place at times. If we’re supposed to be feeling this girl’s regret, shouldn’t we focus more on her and not continue to see how it affected people?

The film also has sex and swears, but its rated R so you knew that anyway.

Cassandra bought Dayle the novel, maybe I’ll read sometime to see if at least the novel followed the logical path.

Overall: I saw it. I saw it with my own eyes. And it was “eh.”
2/5

One thought on “REVIEW: Atonement (2007)

  1. Tony

    “I found it long and pretty boring. For being the story of the younger sister, after the childhood scenes, she’s barely in the movie at all. ”

    Overall: I saw it. I saw it with my own eyes. And it was “eh.”
    2/5

    What??? Do you have a hole in your marble bag?

Leave a Reply

