Home > Random > One of those “25 Things” things

One of those “25 Things” things

February 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments
  1. One of my favorite things to do is watch science fiction shows on DVD with my wife.  So far we’ve watched Quantum Leap, Sliders, Firefly, Star Trek Voyager, Stargate SG-1, and now Battlestar Galactica (2003).
  2. I love to play video games, but I’m not very good at them.
  3. I went to elementary school, but was homeschooled for junior high and high school.  I don’t think it shows though.
  4. I got my degree in Media Communications, but the fanciest equipment I have is an $80 digital camera and a 5 year old educational version of Photoshop.
  5. I would love to be a movie critic, but my opinion of movies tend to change the longer I think about them.  I’ve thought a lot of movies were really good when they came out, but later I look back and realize they weren’t very good at all (i.e. The Star Wars Prequels).
  6. I both want to have kids and am terrified of having kids.  I make do with my Silky Terrier, Berkeley.
  7. I’ve been around the same weight since high school, even though I am probably the least healthy eater I’ve ever known.  I’m sure it will catch up to me sooner or later.
  8. I’m 25 and going bald.  Kind of sad.
  9. “Star Wars” is more than a movie series to me.  It’s literally been part of my entire life.  I even met my wife because of it.  True story.
  10. I used to have a mullet when I was a kid.  Not my choice though.
  11. I can remember being new to church and asking my Sunday School teacher, “Why do we keep talking about this Jesus guy?”
  12. I’ve never had any formal computer training.  Not one class.
  13. I’ve never broken a bone.  Then again, I try not to do anything dangerous.
  14. I remember once when I was 4 or 5 being told by my mom to “get in the tub”.  I grinned and ran off to stand in the tub completely clothed.  Now, 20 years later, I would do the exact same thing and think it was just as funny.
  15. I used to design logos all the time for fake companies that I pretended I owned (“CarpetHead Inc.”, “doubleOfive records”, etc.).  Then I actually ended up designing the logo for the company I work for now, and am way too proud about its implementation nationwide.  I’m especially proud of the lightbox sign out front of the corporate office.
  16. I lived in Honduras with my family for a year after high school, but I rarely spoke any Spanish down there.
  17. Due to living on campus when my stepdad went there and working on campus until my wife graduated, I spent 11 years at Johnson Bible College (1995-2007, minus the year in Honduras).
  18. My first kiss was in the backseat of a vehicle being driven by the girl’s mom with her little sister in the passenger seat.  It was the first time we had hung out and I only saw her twice since.  Does that make me a player?
  19. It’s weird for me to experience something like a wedding without seeing it through a viewfinder.
  20. I’ve never played Dance Dance Revolution.  It’s one of the few things I refuse to do.  No real reason anymore, just being stubborn.
  21. I still have regular dreams about missing classes in college.  Darn that stupid “only two absences” rule!
  22. I love technology, even if I have no use for it.  I love my iPod Touch and the thousands of things you can do with it, but I barely use it to listen to music let alone do any of the fancy things with it.
  23. I’ve actually had two different people who I met and formed relationships with online come and stay with me.  Neither one was creepy.
  24. Some of the best times I had in college were playing Dungeons & Dragons with my friends.  I actually think back and regret not playing more.
  25. This literally took me a week to write.  Either I’m: (a) lazy, (b) uninteresting, or (c) took this way too seriously.  The answer is C.
Categories: Random
  1. November 13, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I remember the mullet!!! YES!!!! Do you remember me sitting out in your front lawn with your Yoda head on top of my Yoda head (okay, my real head) and a green sheet wrapped around my body, just so your friends would get an awesome greeting to your Star Wars birthday party?? I do, it was surprisingly hot!! lol Now that’s real family, right there!! 🙂

    • doubleofive
      November 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      I do remember that! Not bad for being 22 years ago! I don’t know why you couldn’t get that thing on your head. Maybe it was your hair (something I never really had to worry about as I got older).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

