REVIEW: Drag Me To Hell (2009)

Just What It Says On The Tin
Exactly What It Says On The Tin

Summary: A young, smart, trying to be successful woman refuses a loan extension to an old lady, who is upset at what she perceives to be callousness and proceeds to attack and curse her.  The next few days the young woman is visited by a demon, who wants to do Exactly What It Says On The Tin.

Thoughts: First off, you have to understand where I’m coming from here: I don’t like scary movies.  They stress me out.  I’m sure that’s what a lot of people like about them, but I spend the whole time so tense that its uncomfortable.  And its embarrassing for me to have to admit that I didn’t see something because I had my eyes closed.  So even though the trailer looked pretty cool, I didn’t want to see Drag Me To Hell because I figured it would be more of the same (a la The Grudge, The Ring, etc.)  Even though it was Sam Raimi, who did the Evil Dead movies (which I love), I still figured it would be the generic scary movie they show in the trailers.

It took my friend Desiree who went to see it to truly sell it to me.  Despite what the trailers show, its more Evil Dead than The Grudge.  Not quite as ridiculous and over the top as Evil Dead, but definitely funnier than most horror movies I’ve heard of.  I spent most of the time on the edge of my seat waiting for the Jump Moment, but after it arrived most of the time I ended up laughing.  It’s not that it was funny because it was stupid, it was funny because it was so over the top.  And its designed to be just that, a perfect balance between horror and funny.

Sam Raimi used to live for this kind of movie and perfected it years ago.  He definitely knows how to push the audience’s buttons, like some kind of scary movie conductor.  There are some things you can see coming, and you say to yourself “they can’t do that”, then it’ll happen, and even though you’re grossed out, you’re still laughing.  So even though I was scared the whole time, I enjoyed it immensely.  If you like the generic scary movies and are looking for a change of pace, go see it.  If you don’t like scary movies, I’d tell you to see it anyway.  It’s definitely not more of the same.

Overall: Evenly scary and funny, with perfect pacing and just enough character to make it interesting.
3.5/5

One thought on “REVIEW: Drag Me To Hell (2009)

  1. Pingback: REVIEWS: 2009 Movie Review Retrospective « doubleofive's blog

Leave a Reply

